End of Spring 2022 Softball Donation Standings!

End of Spring Softball Donation Standings
  1. Don’t Waste Durham – $442
  2. South Durham Little League – $362
  3. Girls on the Run of the Triangle – $213
  4. Central Piedmont Community Action, Inc – $201
  5. Miracle League of the Triangle – $182
  6. Meals on Wheels Durham – $130
  7. Vets to Vets United, Inc – $127
  8. Crayons2Calculators: The Durham Teacher Warehouse Corporation (C2C) – $117
  9. Housing for New Hope – $95
  10. The Animal Protection Society of Durham – $94
  11. PORCH-Durham – $90
  12. Josh’s Hope – $63
TOTAL: $2,116!
With 214 players contributing, each player entry accounted for ~$10 that will be donated to our charity partners this year!
Thanks to everyone who participated and I hope you’ll play again this Summer!
(Note: Photos are missing $100 from donation drive winners)

2020 Durham Softball Schedule

The Durham Softball League starts playing games during the first week of April each year. Easter is on April 12 this season, so the 2020 season will start on Sunday, March 29. The year will be split into two separate seasons (Spring and Summer), with the second season beginning one week after the first season’s Championship game.

Season Schedule

During 2020, there are 25 eligible weeks during the year where Durham Softball League games may be played:

Date Week of Games
Sunday, March 29, 2020 1
Sunday, April 5, 2020 2
Sunday, April 12, 2020 NO GAMES – EASTER
Sunday, April 19, 2020 3
Sunday, April 26, 2020 4
Sunday, May 3, 2020 5
Sunday, May 10, 2020 NO GAMES – MOTHER’S DAY
Sunday, May 17, 2020 6
Sunday, May 24, 2020 NO GAMES – MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND
Sunday, May 31, 2020 7
Sunday, June 7, 2020 8
Sunday, June 14, 2020 9
Sunday, June 21, 2020 NO GAMES – FATHER’S DAY
Sunday, June 28, 2020 10
Sunday, July 5, 2020 NO GAMES – JULY 4TH WEEKEND
Sunday, July 12, 2020 11
Sunday, July 19, 2020 12
Sunday, July 26, 2020 13
Sunday, August 2, 2020 14
Sunday, August 9, 2020 15
Sunday, August 16, 2020 16
Sunday, August 23, 2020 17
Sunday, August 30, 2020 18
Sunday, September 6, 2020 NO GAMES – LABOR DAY WEEKEND
Sunday, September 13, 2020 19
Sunday, September 20, 2020 20
Sunday, September 27, 2020 21
Sunday, October 4, 2020 22
Sunday, October 11, 2020 23
Sunday, October 18, 2020 24
Sunday, October 25, 2020 25
Sunday, November 1, 2020 26
Sunday, November 8, 2020 27
Sunday, November 15, 2020 28
Sunday, November 22, 2020 29
Sunday, November 29, 2020 NO GAMES – THANKSGIVING
Sunday, December 6, 2020 30
TOTAL 30 Weeks to Play 22 Weeks

The league does not play games on Sunday when national holidays fall on a Sunday or Monday during the year.

With 9 Regular Season Weeks and 2 Playoff Weeks, the two seasons will require a total of 22 Sundays each year. With 30 Eligible Sundays between April 8 and December 6, we have 8 “built-in” weeks to accommodate rain-out reschedules and still get both seasons in before the end of the year.

Spring Season: Starts Sunday, March 29, 2020; ends after 11 eligible weeks.

The Spring league has the potential to finish on July 12th, which is the 11th eligible week of the season. With at least a couple rain-outs likely, a more realistic date for the Championship game might be July 19 or July 26. Whenever the Championship game from the Spring season is played, the Summer season will begin exactly one week later.

Summer Season: Starts 1 weeks after Spring Season ends; ends after 11 eligible weeks.

If the Summer season’s “one week later” start date lands on a holiday, the season will start two weeks later. This means the earliest that the Summer season might begin is July 19, because it is one week after the earliest date that the Spring season could end. Because it is unlikely for the Spring season to be completed with out any rain-outs, a more realistic date for the Summer season’s Opening Day is July 26 or August 2.

With good weather, it is possible to end both seasons as early as October 4th, the 22nd eligible week of the season. For each rain-out during the year, the seasons would get one week longer.

Weekly Schedule

Games are played on Sundays and start between 10:00am and 5:35pm.

  • Each team will play a single game each day.
  • The regular season will consist of 9 games.
  • The 10th and 11th week of each season will feature two single-elimination tournaments. The Consolation Tournament will be played between the Bottom 4 teams competing for 5th Place; the Championship Tournament will be played by the Top 4 teams competing for 1st Place.

“Featured Organization” Each Week

All teams will have a single week where their non-profit is featured to highlight and promote their non-profit to the other members of the league. The captain of the team, or a representative of the non-profit, is invited and encouraged to stay for the remaining games to talk with the other teams before their game, let them know more about your organization, and collect any donated items that teams may bring to the fields.

Rain-Outs / Rescheduling Games

When a week gets rained out, all cancelled games are rescheduled for the last week of the regular season. This makes sure that most games on the schedule are played as originally scheduled at the start of the season so players can better plan their weekends ahead of time.

If some games are played, but other games need to be rescheduled, those games would be made up during the last week of the season, even if other games get rained out after them. In an emergency, alternate arrangements to play games earlier/later in the day may be considered if both teams agree to the accommodations.

Due to time restrictions, the Spring season must end no later than the end of July, with the Summer season ending no later than the end of October. If we get rained out more than 4 times, games that cannot meet these time frames may be forced to cancel entirely.

Softball Practice!

Action shot of a pitch being thrown during Spring softball practice

Our first softball practice of the year went great this weekend! Thanks to everyone who came out to play! We had a lot of fun taking some batting practice, fielding some infield and outfield, and playing a few mini games. A special thanks to Chris at MoveEvolve Fitness for guiding our group through stretches before we got started!

As a reminder, we’ll be holding slow pitch softball practices every Sunday in March as we get ready for our Spring season, beginning on April 8, 2018! Here are the dates, with a link to our Facebook event for each one:

Practice will be held at our home field at 223 E. Institute Dr, Durham, NC, 27703.

2018 Spring Softball Registrations are OPEN!

All 8 of Our Non-Profit Sponsor Organizations

PLAY SOFTBALL FOR CHARITY!

Registrations are now open for our 2018 Spring season!

Players can sign up to play for one of the sponsor organizations in the league and compete to earn donations for their cause. The season starts on April 8 and registrations are limited, so sign up now!

For registration details, visit:
http://bit.ly/2GvlZtf

Sponsor Organizations:
Girls on the Run of the Triangle
Hope Animal Rescue
Housing for New Hope
Kidznotes
Meals on Wheels of Durham
Miracle League of the Triangle
South Durham Little League
STEM in the Park

Special thanks to The Research Triangle Park for their contributions.